SWISS Business Class Lounge in New York JFK being tested

Die SWISS Business Class Lounge in New York JFK im Test

The SWISS Business Class Lounge is available to passengers departing from Terminal 4 of JFK Airport in New York. The SWISS Business Class Lounge can be accessed by Business Class passengers, Miles&More senators and Star Alliance Gold members. A separate lounge is available for First Class passengers.

SWISS Business Class Lounge at a glance

The lounge is located on the 1st floor of Terminal 4, directly to the right after the security check. SWISS airline connoisseurs will be immediately familiar with the design of the SWISS Business Class Lounge with its characteristic wall of Jura stone, black-and-white shades and Vitra designer seats. The room is modern and simple with clear lines.

The lounge features a range of comfortable leather seats with a small side table, lamp and socket. Some counter seats run along the window from floor to ceiling. Next to the buffet is a small dining area. There are also bar tables, which would be ideal for laptop users if they had the appropriate sockets. While the room is quite large overall, the lounge was very crowded and hectic at the time of our visit ( Sunday 17.00 ) and seemed uninviting.

Book hotels in New York*

The sanitary facilities are also a disappointment. Small cells, separated only by a thin wall from the lounge area, in front of which the staff stood guard and controlled and regulated access. The showers were out of order.


NYC Sightseeing Pass
 

SWISS Business Class Lounge – Food and other offers

Swiss offers a selection of cold and hot meals in buffet form. Altogether the salads and 4 warm meals (pasta, chicken nuggets, gratin, vegetables) cannot convince. The beverage selection is ok with the usual selection of standard spirits.

We expect more from a premium airline and the offer cannot keep up with that of other premium airlines. This is especially true in view of the fact that the flight to Europe is comparatively short and many visitors would like to eat well in order to be able to extend their sleeping times on board.

Visitors also have a range of magazines and several large screens at their disposal.

SWISS Business Class Lounge – the TFL opinion

At first glance, the SWISS Business Class Lounge appears to be quite inviting, but then loses out significantly against the background of the points described above. In our opinion, the SWISS Business Class Lounge is not a flagship of the airline and needs to be repositioned. It did not meet our expectations of a premium lounge.

The American Express Centurion Lounge in Terminal 4 will be completed in spring 2020. American Express Platinum Card holders will most likely then have a much better alternative. 



 

NYC Sightseeing Pass

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Die SWISS Business Class Lounge in New York JFK im Test

SWISS Business Class Lounge
SWISS Business Class Lounge

Passagiere, die vom Terminal 4 des JFK Flughafens in New York abfliegen steht die SWISS Business Class Lounge zur Verfügung. Besucht werden kann die SWISS Business Class Lounge von Business Class, Passagieren, Senatoren von Miles&More und Star Alliance Gold Membern. First Class Passagieren steht eine separate Lounge direkt daneben zur Verfügung.

SWISS Business Class Lounge im Überblick

Die Lounge liegt im 1. Stock des Terminals 4, direkt rechts nach der Sicherheitskontrolle. Kenner der SWISS Airline werden mit der Gestaltung der SWISS Business Class Lounge mit der charakteristischen Wand aus Jura-Stein, Schwarzweiß-Tönen und Vitra Designersitzen sofort vertraut sein. Der Raum ist modern und einfach mit klaren Linien.

Die Lounge beinhaltet eine Reihe von bequemen Ledersitzen mit einem kleinen Beistelltisch, einer Lampe und einer Steckdose. Einige Thekensitze verlaufen entlang des Fensters vom Boden bis zur Decke. Neben dem Buffet befindet sich ein kleiner Essbereich. Es gibt auch Stehtische, die ideal für Laptop-Benutzer wären, wenn sie denn entsprechende Steckdosen hätten. Während der Raum insgesamt recht groß ist, war die Lounge zum Zeitpunkt unseres Besuchs ( Sonntag 17.00 Uhr ) sehr voll und hektisch und wirkte wenig einladend.

Hotels in New York buchen*

Ebenfalls eine Enttäuschung sind die sanitären Anlagen. Kleine, nur durch eine dünne Wand vom Lounge Bereich abgetrennte Zellen, vor denen das Personal Wache stand und den Zugang kontrollierte und reglementierte. Die Duschen waren defekt.

SWISS Business Class Lounge – Essen und andere Angebote

Swiss bietet ein Auswahl kalten und warmen Mahlzeiten in Buffet Form an. Insgesamt können die Salate und 4 warmen Mahlzeiten ( Pasta, Chicken Nuggets, Gratin, Gemüse ) nicht überzeugen. Die Getränkeauswahl ist mit der üblichen Auswahl an Standard Spirituosen ok. 

Von einer Premium Airline erwarten wir mehr und das Angebot kann nicht mit dem anderer Premium Airlines mithalten. Dies gerade vor dem Hintergrund, dass der Flug nach Europa vergleichsweise kurz ist und viele Besucher gerne gut Essen würden, um dann die Schlafzeiten an Bord ausdehnen zu können.

Den Besuchern stehen zudem eine Reihe von Zeitschriften und mehrere Großbildschirme zur Verfügung.

SWISS Business Class Lounge – das Fazit

Die SWISS Business Class Lounge wirkt auf den ersten Blick recht einladend, verliert jedoch dann deutlich vor dem Hintergrund der zuvor beschriebenen Punkte. Unseres Erachtens ist die SWISS Business Class Lounge kein Aushängeschild der Airline und Bedarf einer Neupositionierung. Unsere Erwartungen an eine Premium Lounge hat sie nicht erfüllt.

Im Frühjahr 2020 wird die American Express Centurion Lounge im Terminal 4 fertiggestellt sein. Besitzer einer American Express Platinum Card* haben dann höchstwahrscheinlich eine wesentlich bessere Alternative. 

Unsere Bilder knipsen wir mit der Canon G7X Mark II ( lies unseren Test )

Wir reisen und bezahlen bevorzugt mit der American Express Platinum Card – bei Flugreisen der perfekte Begleiter!

New York Tipps



Booking.com

 

 

 

Letzte Aktualisierung am 15.11.2019 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API

Die Darstellung der Produkte wurde mit dem Plugin AAWP umgesetzt.

Hinterlasse jetzt einen Kommentar

Kommentar hinterlassen

E-Mail Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*